Newsletter ArchiveApplication to Film in TaipeiTaipei Film Academy ▲TOP
台北市電影委員會 Taipei Film Commission

Talents and Resources


CHEN Kun-hou
Gender: Male
Born in 1939, CHEN Kun-hou was admitted to Central Pictures Corporation in 1962, and was promoted to cinematographer in 1971. The next year, he served as cinematographer for 《Story of Mother》 directed by SUNG Tsun-shou. Later, he also worked with director LEE Hsing for several movies including 《He Never Gives Up》 and 《The Story of A Small Town》.
With his solid cinematography background, CHEN Kun-hou started to take on directing in 1979. He cooperated with HOU Hsiao-hsien as cinematographer while HOU wrote the scripts; both of them took turns to be the director. They jointly launched a series of blockbuster light romance comedies, such as 《Lover on the Wave》, 《Spring in Autumn》 and 《Longing》, with a breakthrough from the "three room model"* of Chiung Yao-style romance films. In 1982, he co-founded Evergreen Film Company with HOU Hsiao-hsien, XU Shu-zhen and CHANG Hua-kun in the hope of making movies that are close to life and people and can actually resonate with the audiences. He proposed to cooperate with Central Pictures Corporation to make 《Growing Up》, an adaptation of the novel of the same title written by CHU Tien-wen with limited budget and B-list actors. In 1983, this movie created a box office success and received three major Golden Horse Awards, thus becoming the cornerstone of Taiwanese New Wave and making him and HOU Hsiao-hsien the spiritual leaders among the "New Wave" directors.
In 1985, he and HOU Hsiao-hsien formed new crews respectively and went separate ways. The movies he directed in the 1980s, including 《Out of the Blue》, 《Osmanthus Alley》 and 《My Mother's Tea House》, were mostly literary adaptations, showing his consistent and gentle care for human. After 1989, he went to China for further development and served as executive producer for TV series.
In 2009, CHEN Kun-hou launched 《Colorful Min》d, a remake of 《The Dull-Ice Flower》 (directed by YANG Liguo, 1989). In 2013, he filmed 《The Triangle Land》 in a mild approach that was comprehensive to common audiences. This movie profoundly depicted the subtlety of emotional expressions between people.
(* "Three-room" means living room, dining room and café.)


1980 《Spring in Autumn》
1980 《Lover in the Wave》
1981 《Longing》
1982 《Six Is Company》
1983 《Growing Up》
Golden Horse Film Festival – Best Feature Film, Best Director and Best dapted Screenplay
Gijón International Film Festival – Best Film
1984 《Out of The Blue》
1985 《His Matrimony》
Golden Horse Film Festival – Best Cinematography
1985 《My Favorite Season》
1986 《Drifters》
1987 《Osmanthus Alley》
1988 《My Mother's Tea House》
2006 《Twin Daggers》

2009 《Colorful Mind》
Schlingel International Film Festival for Children and Young Audience – Best Actor

International Children's and Youth Film Festival (Madrid) – Special Jury Award

2012 《The Triangle Land》
Baihe Awards (Beijing) – Special Jury Award

International professional experience


Join Us

facebook instagram youtube